top of page
School Information

Kilmessan Mixed National School (also known as St. Joseph’s) is a Roman Catholic School under the patronage of the Catholic Bishop of Meath, Dr. Thomas Deenihan.
Based in the heart of Kilmessan Village, we currently have approx. 230 pupils. The teaching staff comprises of 9 mainstream class teachers, 3 Support Teachers, 3 SNAs and an administrative Principal. We have a full-time Secretary & a part-time caretaker. We are a vertical school, catering for all classes from Junior Infants to 6th Class.

Mission Statement

  • Kilmessan Mixed N.S. is a co-educational, Catholic primary school which strives to provide a well-ordered, caring, happy and secure atmosphere where the intellectual, spiritual, physical, moral and cultural needs of the pupils are identified and addressed.

  • While Kilmessan Mixed N.S. is a primary school with a Catholic ethos, it also has due recognition & respect for all other religions and cultures.

  • When our pupils leave us, it is our aim that they will have achieved their potential in literacy and numeracy and will be enabled to utilise these skills to pursue further learning and become active members of their community & of wider society.

  • Our school is an integral part of the parish of Kilmessan. Therefore, we will encourage the involvement of parents & the wider community through home/school/community contacts and through their involvement with the P.A. & the Board of Management.

  • Pupils will be enabled to make moral judgements based on their Christian values, human rights and their own conscience that will contribute to a caring, tolerant and accepting society.

  • We will foster positive attitudes towards physical fitness and nutrition and encourage healthy habits that will enable pupils to reach their full physical potential.

  • We will foster in the pupils the knowledge that with every right, there is a corresponding responsibility.

  • We will endeavour to enhance the self-esteem of everyone in the school community.

  • We will promote gender equity amongst all staff and pupils.

  • Déanfaimid iarracht Gaeilge a labhairt agus cultúr na tíre a chur chun cinn.

  • School motto – “Mol an Óige agus tiocfaidh sí”

Opening hours:
School Hours:

Junior & Senior Infants 9.00a.m.-1.40p.m.

1st Class - 6th Class 9.00a.m.-2.40p.m.

For inquiries, please contact our school secretary, Mary at 046-9025532.

Board of Management

The board of management/manager(s) is the body of persons or the

person(s) appointed by the patron to manage the school on behalf of

the patron.  The functions of the board of management (the Board)

are set out in section 15 of the Education Act, 1998 which provides,

inter alia, that it shall be the duty of the Board to “manage the school

on behalf of the patron and for the benefit of the students and their

parents and to provide or cause to be provided an appropriate

education for each student at the school for which that board has

responsibility”. Section 15 of the Education Act, 1998 also provides

that a “board shall perform the functions conferred on it and on a

school by this Act”.

Governance Manual for Primary Schools 2019-2023


Board of Management members (2019-2023):


Chairperson (& Patron Nominee)               Catriona Flaherty

Secretary (& Principal)                             Brian Mullins

Treasurer (& Community Rep)                   Diarmuid Ó Ceallaigh

Patron Nominee                                        Fr. Terence Toner

Teacher Nominee                                     Michelle McKeown

Parent Nominee                                        Aoife Fletcher

Parent Nominee                                        Norman Shine

Community Representative                       Annemarie Durkan

Written communication for the Board of Management may be sent to the school by email or post marked FAO the Chairperson.

bottom of page